Top Winter Boots & A Giveaway

Hey guys,

It’s been awhile right?

So winter is over according to our Groundhog friend.

I don’t know how much I believe that, so just in case here’s the tee on some great winter boot finds!

tumblr_o0nxrfaRZN1qfpxw7o1_540

  1.  6-inch Waterproof Timberland Boots – $160

Timberland 6

 

These Black Timberlands are my favorite thing ever!

Well my favorite boot ever 🙂

As a kid, I remember how popular Timberlands were. Everyone had them.

tumblr_m9vg9lncQF1qedzbdo1_500.png

 I knew I needed some non-heeled shoes and started thinking of Timberlands. The orange material was super hard to work with wardrobe wise so I decided on black. Below are two photos that inspired me to make the jump.

Photo from Streetstyle.allwomentalk.comobj3igck

FJ_Refinery_Rooftop_(6_of_12)Photo from: blog.FrancetaJohnson.com

Timberlands are Waterproof, they feature an OrthoLite® footbed for cushion and support and the lining and laces are made from recycled plastic bottles.

Here’s a style guide for how I’ve worn my timberlands.

 

2.Frye Valerie Boots – $497

Frye Valerie

Now before you go rolling your eyes about the price, I stumbled across these at Marshalls for $125.

These boots!

I wore these until the were in a horrible and stinky condition.

They are incredibly warm and comfy. I dressed them up and dressed them down. One of my absolute favorites.  They are a knee high riding boot with a full shearling lining.  The boot has a 1.5-inch heel and is wonderful in snow, rain and dry weather.

Here’s an example of how I’ve styled my Valerie’s:

tumblr_o218i7Ex4a1qfpxw7o1_540

3. Keds Droplet Leather Boots – $59

Keds DropletI originally purchased these to keep my feet warm while on a gig with my pal Emily Hudspeth. They didn’t arrive in time for the shoot, but they did arrive in time for the great blizzard of 2016. They held up between me digging out my car multiple times, treking through the snow daily and through rain.

These are a mid calf lace up boot with a faux shearling lining. They are water resistant but not waterproof. These are my go-to shoe for a cold or rainy weather.

The insole wasn’t that comfy to me, I need arch support. I purchased orthotics  for them and they felt better.

Here’s an example of how I have styled my Droplets:

Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 2.52.01 PM

4. Bearpaw Meadow Boot – $65

Bearpaw Meadow

These are my Canada boots!

A few years ago, I did a shoot in Times Square and treked up to Niagara Falls with a friend. These babies kept my toesies warm. The weather was horribly cold but my feet were toasty. Not only are these my cold weather boots, these are my post photo shoot or hanging out boots.

Outtake photo by IYQ Photography

DSC_7586

Meadow by Bearpaw is a cheaper alternative to the UGG boot. They are suede and have a solid, rubber, gripping sole which helps you to stay on your feet during inclement weather. A 1-inch heel and a shearling upper liner.

I definitely felt great about the price and the comfort and can definitely recommend these. Here’s an outfit I have worn with these.

tumblr_o218akITJb1qfpxw7o1_540

One tip is to Scotchgard with Scotchgard Suede and Nubuck Leather Protector these bad boys so they stay dry and war:

  1. Spray from 12inch a nice coat of the Scotchgard spray in circular motions.
  2. Allow the lay to dry for 12 hrs
  3. Spray another coat of the Scotchgard in the manner, allowing it to dry another 12 hours.

tumblr_o218akITJb1qfpxw7o1_540

IN OTHER NEWS…

My bae Emily Hudspeth has another contest going on:

refresh-sesh

Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 2.48.33 PM.png

This is from Emily:

Today is the day! Is here y’all! Treat ‘Yo Self or your sweetie to #therefreshsesh for valentines day❤️ check out the link in profile for more info and get yours today. There are 12 spots available and will be on sale ($50 off regular price) Feb 1-14 or until they are al gone!
💄👠💋👗💃🏼……….. Up your makeup and wardrobe game with virtual styling lessons from your very own personal stylist team. No matter where you are! How fancy!… 🎉 we are celebrating with a giveaway!🎉 WIN the @smashboxcosmetics Softbox palette shown in previous post for you and one for your BFF 👯 how?
1. Follow @emilyhudspeth
2. Follow @joannaavant
3. Like this pic
4. Tag a bestie who loves makeup/fashion.
Winner announced this Friday!

Go enter!

 

Leave a Reply

